Have cheek fat removed? Bichectomy? Questions for PD Dr Tremp

Although a natural face should look soft and full, many patients find their face too full or even chubby. In a bichectomy, the inner fat in the cheek area is surgically removed. The aim of bichectomy is to narrow and thin the cheek area. Small pads of fat are removed from both sides of the cheeks to thin the face. The scar is not visible from the outside as the incision is made from the inside. With the procedure, the cheeks appear less voluminous and the face becomes thinner, more oval and harmonious.

Read also: Aesthetic treatments for the face

Who is suitable for a bichectomy?

Bichectomy is a highly individualised procedure and is suitable for patients who have a chubby face. The following rules apply as basic requirements for the operation: stable weight; no relevant secondary diseases; realistic expectations: Non-smoker.

What are alternatives for a bichectomy?

In addition to the bichectomy, additional measures can be carried out for a facial slimming such as liposuction, botulinum treatment in the masseter muscle, chin implant, cheek implant, or a selective treatment of lipolysis ("fat way injection"). In so-called "facial slimming", 2 - 3 botulinum treatments are carried out in the chewing muscle and/or in the parotid gland at intervals of 6 weeks. The chewing muscle shrinks and the facial contour becomes narrower. After the first treatment series, the maintenance phase follows, whereby treatment can take place every 4 - 6 months. Due to the muscle reduction, a slightly sagging cheek area may occur at the beginning of the treatment. After 2-3 months, however, the skin contracts again. This treatment can also be used to treat nocturnal teeth grinding ("bruxism"). Side effects such as chewing difficulties or asymmetrical laughing are very rare, after 3 - 4 weeks the symptoms usually disappear. Botulinum treatments in the parotid gland usually have no effect on saliva production or taste sensation.

What are the risks of a bichectomy?

In a detailed consultation, the possible risks and chances of success are discussed in detail. If desired, a 3D analysis can be performed. Possible risks are bruising, permanent asymmetry, infections, injury to the salivary duct, nerve injury with possible facial paralysis, numbness or prolonged pain. 

What do I have to consider before the operation?

Before the operation, blood analyses and a clinical examination are carried out. If you smoke, you must completely stop nicotine consumption 3 weeks before and after the operation. Likewise, blood-thinning medication or food supplements with herbs should be paused before the operation. Arnica globules 7 days before and after the operation can promote the healing process.

What is the procedure for a bichectomy?

The operation can be performed either under general anaesthesia or in twilight sleep and is discussed individually with the patient. The operation is usually performed on an outpatient basis. The incision is made from the inside in the cheek area, where the inner fatty tissue ("buccal fat") is removed. The wound is sutured with self-dissolving thread material.

What do I have to keep in mind after the operation?

You will need to eat a soft/liquid diet for a few days after the operation. We will also give you a mouth rinse to minimise the risk of infection. The procedure is not very painful, the swelling takes a few weeks to subside and can be accelerated with painkillers or cooling. The acute healing phase lasts about 5 - 7 days, after which you are usually fit for social activities again. Sporting activities can be resumed after about 2 weeks.

What are the costs?

The procedure is mainly aesthetic and is rarely covered by health insurance. The costs depend on the type of procedure and are adjusted individually. They include the operation, anaesthesia, room rental and post-operative follow-up, exclusively post-operative pain medication.

Do you have questions about the removal of cheek fat (bichectomy)?

Contact Dr Tremp for a consultation.

Do you have any questions?

Make an appointment for a consultation.

Contact us during office hours to arrange a no-obligation consultation with PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp in Cham near Zug.

Our offer for aesthetic medicine and plastic reconstructive surgery

Our range of treatments covers the entire spectrum of aesthetic medicine and plastic-reconstructive surgery. Each treatment is an individual procedure that is precisely tailored to your wishes, needs and prerequisites.

We stand for transparent and fair prices. The costs include all measures such as preliminary consultation, operation, anaesthesia, stays and follow-up checks. The costs for cosmetic surgery treatments are only covered by health insurance in exceptional cases. Contact us for your questions about the treatments.

Topics and answers by PD Dr Mathias Tremp

Flying chin? Chin correction? Chin augmentation? Double chin removal? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 20 Jun 2022

A weakly defined chin is usually congenital and can be distressing for many sufferers. Men in particular want to have a prominent...

Learn more

Lip treatment? Lip Lift? Bullhorn Lip Lift? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 01 Jun 2022

Curved and full lips stand for sensuality and femininity. However, not all women naturally have this shape....

Learn more

The Art of Aesthetic facial treatments - Invitation (Thursday, JUNE 9, 2022) in Zug Switzerland

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 09 May 2022

Dear Ladies, I'm honored to invite you to our next Event in presence, which will take place on Thursday JUNE...

Learn more

Wangenfett entfernen lassen? Bichektomie? Fragen an PD Dr. Tremp

Obwohl ein natürliches Gesicht weich und voll ausschauen soll, empfinden viele Patienten ihr Gesicht als zu voll oder sogar als mollig. Bei der Bichektomie wird das innere Fett im Wangenbereich chirurgisch entfernt. Das Ziel der Bichektomie ist eine Verschmälerung und Verdünnung im Wangenbereich. Zur Verdünnung des Gesichts werden kleine Fettpolster an beiden Wangenseiten entfernt. Die Narbe ist von aussen nicht sichtbar da der Schnitt von innen erfolgt. Mit dem Eingriff erscheinen die Wangen weniger voluminös und das Gesicht wird dünner, ovaler und harmonischer.

Lesen Sie auch: Ästhetische Behandlungen im Gesicht

Wer eignet sich für eine Bichektomie?

Die Bichektomie ist ein sehr individualisierter Eingriff und eignet sich bei Patienten, die ein molliges Gesicht haben. Als Grundvoraussetzungen für die Operation gelten folgende Regeln: stabiles Gewicht; keine relevanten Nebenerkrankungen; realistische Erwartungen: Nichtraucher.

Was sind Alternativen für eine Bichektomie?

Zur Bichektomie können ergänzende Massnahmen durchgeführt werden für eine Gesichtsverschmälerung wie zum Beispiel: Fettabsaugung, Botulinum Behandlung in den Kaumuskel (Masseter), Kinn Implantat, Wangenimplantat, oder eine selektive Behandlung einer Lipolyse («Fettwegspritze»).

Was sind die Risiken einer Bichektomie?

In einem ausführlichen Beratungsgespräch werden die möglichen Risiken und Erfolgsaussichten genau besprochen. Auf Wunsch kann eine 3D Analyse durchgeführt werden. Mögliche Risiken sind Blutergüsse, bleibende Asymmetrie, Infektionen, Verletzung vom Speichelgang, Nervenverletzung mit möglicher Gesichtslähmung, Taubheitsgefühl, oder längerdauernde Schmerzen. 

Was muss ich vor der Operation beachten?

Vor der Operation erfolgen Blutanalysen und eine klinische Untersuchung. Falls Sie rauchen müssen Sie 3 Wochen vor und nach der Operation komplett mit dem Nikotinkonsum aufhören. Ebenso sollten blutverdünnende Medikamente oder Nahrungsergänzungsmittel mit Kräutern vor der Operation pausiert werden. Arnika Globuli 7 Tage vor und nach der Operation können den Heilungsprozess fördern.

Wie ist der Ablauf einer Bichektomie?

Die Operation kann entweder in Vollnarkose oder im Dämmerschlaf erfolgen und wird individuell mit dem Patienten besprochen. Die Operation findet meist ambulant statt. Der Schnitt erfolgt von innen im Wangenbereich, wo das innere Fettgewebe («buccal fat») entfernt wird. Wie Wundnaht wird durch selbstauflösendes Fadenmaterial durchgeführt.

Was muss ich nach der Operation beachten?

Nach der Operation müssen Sie für ein paar Tage eine weiche/flüssige Kost zu sich nehmen. Wir geben Ihnen zudem eine Mundspülung, um das Risiko einer Infektion zu minimieren. Der Eingriff ist nicht sehr schmerzhaft, die Abschwellung dauert ein paar Wochen und kann mittels Schmerzmittel oder Kühlung beschleunigt werden. Die akute Heilungsphase dauert ca. 5 – 7 Tage, nachher sind Sie in der Regel wieder gesellschaftsfähig. Sportliche Aktivitäten können nach ca. 2 Wochen wieder aufgenommen werden.

Was sind die Kosten?

Der Eingriff ist hauptsächlich ästhetisch und wird kaum von der Krankenasse übernehmen. Die Kosten sind abhängig von der Art des Eingriffes und werden individuell angepasst. Sie beinhalten die Operation, Anästhesie, Raummiete und postoperative Nachkontrollen, exklusiv postoperative Schmerzmedikamente.

Haben Sie Fragen zur Entfernung von Wangenfett (Bichektomie)?

Kontaktieren Sie Dr. Tremp für eine Beratung.

Haben Sie Fragen?

Vereinbaren Sie einen Beratungstermin.

Kontaktieren Sie uns verändert den Praxiszeiten und vereinbaren Sie einen unverbindlichen Beratungstermin mit PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp in Cham bei Zug.

Unser Angebot für ästhetische Medizin und plastisch-rekonstruktive Chirurgie

Unser Behandlungsangebot umfasst die gesamte Palette der ästhetischen Medizin und plastisch-rekonstruktiven Chirurgie. Jede Behandlung ist ein individueller Eingriff, der genau auf Ihre Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und Voraussetzungen abgestimmt ist.

Wir stehen für transparente und faire Preise. Die Kosten umfassen alle Massnahmen wie Vorbesprechung, Operation, Anästhesie, Aufenthalte und Nachkontrollen. Die Kosten für schönheitschirurgische Behandlungen werden nur in Ausnahmen von der Krankenversicherung übernommen. Kontaktieren Sie uns für Ihre Fragen zu den Behandlungen.

Themen und Antworten von PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

The Art of Aesthetic facial treatments – Invitation (Thursday, JUNE 9, 2022) in Zug Switzerland

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | Mai 9, 2022

Dear Ladies, I’m honored to invite you to our next Event in presence, which will take place on Thursday JUNE…

Mehr lesen

Mommy Makeover? Schöne Körperform nach Abschluss der Familienplanung – Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | Mai 5, 2022

Durch die Schwangerschaft, Geburt und auch das Stillen kann es zu Veränderungen des Körpers kommen. Das Gewebe verliert an Elastizität,…

Mehr lesen

Wechsel der Brustimplantate bei Kapselfibrose? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | Mai 1, 2022

Der Körper bildet um ein bestehendes Brustimplantat eine sogenannte Brustkapsel als Fremdkörperreaktion. In der Regel ist die Brustkapsel sehr fein…

Mehr lesen