Lip treatment? Lip Lift? Bullhorn Lip Lift? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

Curved and full lips stand for sensuality and femininity. However, not all women have this shape naturally. In addition, lips can become thinner and longer with age. Aesthetic medicine and surgery can improve the fullness and shape of the lips. Today, mainly natural and degradable products such as autologous fat or hyaluronic acid are used to improve the shape and volume of the lips.

However, a narrow upper lip, the visibility of the lower edges of the incisors and the accentuation and lifting of the red of the upper lip are other essential features of a beautiful mouth. The surgical treatment of an elongated upper lip ("philtrum") is the so-called "Bullhon Lip-Lift".

Read also: Facial plastic and aesthetic treatments, Facial plastic surgery, Facial aesthetic treatments

What is a Bullhorn Lip Lift and why does this procedure have this name?

The optimal distance between the upper lip and the nose is considered to be 11 - 14mm. However, with age, the distance can increase significantly and the face looks older.

With the Bullhorn Lip-Lift, the excess skin in the area of the upper lip is removed and the upper lip is thereby permanently shortened.

This method makes the lips, which tend to be narrow and flat due to genetic predisposition or age, more feminine, the upper lip red is emphasised and the teeth are more visible when smiling.

This makes your face look more open, sympathetic and attractive. As the shape of the excised skin is reminiscent of bullhorns, this procedure is called a "bullhorn lip lift".

lip lift surgery,bullhorn technique, plastic surgery concept.

What other lip treatments are there and what is the difference to the Bullhorn Lip Lift?

Lip injections with hyaluronic acid are a very low-risk option for lip treatment. Hyaluronic acid is an endogenous, biological and naturally degradable product and has the property of binding water. This can change the volume of the lips, the shape of the lips, but also the corners of the mouth (so-called "Corner Lip Lift") and lift the corners of the mouth.

Likewise, disturbing lip margin wrinkles (so-called smoker's lines) can be easily smoothed out. The results are immediately visible and there is no downtime. With an additional treatment of botulinum, the red of the upper lip can also be lifted (so-called "lip flip" treatment).

In most cases, the treatment effect with botulinum occurs after 48 - 72 hours, the maximum effect is achieved after 1 - 2 weeks. When treating with hyaluronic acid, the proportions and harmony of the upper and lower lip must be taken into account. In particular, the so-called golden ratio must be taken into account (1 : 1.618). In the case of asymmetrical lip shape, lump formation or vascular occlusion, the hyaluronic acid can be dissolved with an enzyme called hyaluronidase.

The results after a hyaluronic acid treatment usually last between 6 -12 months, then the treatment can be repeated. With the Bullhorn Lip-Lift, on the other hand, a permanent result is achieved, a follow-up treatment or fine correction is very rarely necessary.
An alternative treatment method to hyaluronic acid is lip treatment with autologous fat.

In this natural form of treatment, liposuction is performed on a desired area, the fat is prepared accordingly and injected into the lips. With this treatment, approx. 40 - 50% of the fat is dissolved in the first 3 months, the remaining part remains for a long time.

What is the Bullhorn Lip Lift procedure?

The procedure is performed under local anaesthesia and can be done on an outpatient basis. The operation takes approx. 45 - 60 minutes

Where does the scar run?

The incision is made along the wings of the nose and the bridge of the nose. The scar is thus hidden in the area of the natural skin fold under the nasal entrance and is thus hardly visible.

Who is suitable for a Bullhorn Lip Lift?

The procedure is suitable for all women who feel their lips are too narrow and too long. Due to genetic predisposition or also the natural ageing process, the lips appear narrower over time, increasing the distance between the nose and the mouth and thus making the face appear older.

There is therefore actually no age limit for the procedure. The various treatment methods are discussed in detail during an individual consultation.

What are the risks of a Bullhorn Lip Lift?

The risks of the treatment are low. As with all surgical procedures, disturbances in wound healing or infection can occur. However, these complications are very rare due to the good blood circulation in the facial area.

Slight swelling, bruising or redness may occur for a few days, which often disappears by itself. Sensory restrictions of the upper lip are not to be expected after the healing of the operation.

What do I have to keep in mind after the operation?

After the operation you should cool the upper lip for a few days. I also recommend avoiding excessive talking or intensive chewing during the healing phase and eating a cool and soft diet. I also recommend no physical exertion until the wound has healed (usually after 7 days).

The sutures are removed after 5 to 7 days, then hardly anything can be seen of the operation. You will then need to massage the scar with a fatty or silicone scar cream daily for up to a year after the operation and use a sunscreen with a sun protection factor of 50. In principle, there is hardly any restriction on your ability to work; after 3 - 5 days you are usually fit for social life.

What are the costs?

As the procedure is an aesthetic treatment, the health insurance companies do not cover the applications. Depending on the additional procedures and duration of the operation, you will receive a detailed written cost estimate from us.

The costs for the planned operation must be transferred at least 7 days before the operation so that the appointment can be definitively confirmed. This advance payment, which is common in the industry, is necessary in order to make the reservations and preparations for your operation.

Do you have any questions?

Make an appointment for a consultation.

Contact us during office hours to arrange a no-obligation consultation with PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp in Cham near Zug.

Our offer for aesthetic medicine and plastic reconstructive surgery

Our range of treatments covers the entire spectrum of aesthetic medicine and plastic-reconstructive surgery. Each treatment is an individual procedure that is precisely tailored to your wishes, needs and prerequisites.

We stand for transparent and fair prices. The costs include all measures such as preliminary consultation, operation, anaesthesia, stays and follow-up checks. The costs for cosmetic surgery treatments are only covered by health insurance in exceptional cases. Contact us for your questions about the treatments.

Topics and answers by PD Dr Mathias Tremp

Flying chin? Chin correction? Chin augmentation? Double chin removal? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 20 Jun 2022

A weakly defined chin is usually congenital and can be distressing for many sufferers. Men in particular want to have a prominent...

Learn more

The Art of Aesthetic facial treatments - Invitation (Thursday, JUNE 9, 2022) in Zug Switzerland

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 09 May 2022

Dear Ladies, I'm honored to invite you to our next Event in presence, which will take place on Thursday JUNE...

Learn more

Mommy Makeover? Beautiful body shape after completing family planning - Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 05 May 2022

Pregnancy, childbirth and also breastfeeding can cause changes in the body. The tissue loses elasticity,...

Learn more

Lippenbehandlung? Lip Lifting? Bullhorn Lip-Lift? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Geschwungene und volle Lippen stehen für Sinnlichkeit und Weiblichkeit. Allerdings besteht nicht bei allen Frauen von Natur aus diese Form. Zudem können Lippen mit dem Alter dünner und länger werden. Durch die ästhetische Medizin und Chirurgie kann die Fülle und Form der Lippen verbessert werden. Zur Verbesserung der Lippenform und Lippenvolumen werden heute hauptsächlich natürliche und abbaubare Produkte wie Eigenfett oder Hyaluronsäure verwendet.

Eine schmale Oberlippe, die Sichtbarkeit der Schneidezahnunterkanten sowie Betonung und Anhebung des Oberlippenrotes sind aber weitere, wesentliche Merkmale einer schönen Mundpartie. Die chirurgische Behandlung einer verlängerten Oberlippe («Philtrum») ist das sogenannte «Bullhon Lip-Lift».

Lesen Sie auch: Plastische und ästhetische Gesichtsbehandlungen, Plastische Gesichtschirurgie, Ästhetische Gesichtsbehandlungen

Was ist ein Bullhorn Lip-Lift und wieso hat dieser Eingriff diese Bezeichnung?

Als optimaler Abstand zwischen Oberlippe und Nase gilt eine Länge von 11 – 14mm. Mit zunehmendem Alter kann sich der Abstand jedoch deutlich vergrössern und das Gesicht wirkt älter.

Mit dem Bullhorn Lip-Lift wird die überschüssige Haut im Bereich der Oberlippe entfernt und die Oberlippe dadurch dauerhaft gekürzt.

Durch diese Methode werden die Lippen, welche aufgrund genetischer Veranlagung oder altersbeding eher schmal und flach sind, femininer, das Oberlippenrot wird betont und die Zähne sind beim Lächeln mehr zu sehen.

Dadurch wirkt Ihr Gesicht offener, sympathischer und attraktiver. Da die Form der herausgeschnittenen Haut an Stierhörner («Bullhorn») erinnert heisst dieser Eingriff «Bullhorn Lip-Lift».

lip lift surgery,bullhorn technique, plastic surgery concept.

Welche andere Lippenbehandlungen gibt es und was ist der Unterschied zum Bullhorn Lip-Lift?

Die Lippenunterspritzung mit Hyaluronsäure ist eine sehr risikoarme Möglichkeit für eine Lippenbehandlung. Die Hyaluronsäure ist ein körpereigenes, biologisches und natürlich abbaubares Produkt und hat die Eigenschaft der Wasserbindung. Dadurch kann das Lippenvolumen, die Lippenform, aber auch die Mundwinkel (sogenanntes «Corner Lip Lift») verändert und die Mundwinkel angehoben werden.

Ebenso können störende Lippenrandfältchen (sogenannte Raucherfältchen) einfach geglättet werden. Die Ergebnisse sind sofort sichtbar und es besteht keine Ausfallzeit. Mit einer zusätzlichen Behandlung von Botulinum kann zudem das Oberlippenrot angehoben werden (sogenannte «Lip Flip» Behandlung).

In den meisten Fällen tritt der Behandlungseffekt mit Botulinum nach 48 – 72 Stunden ein, der maximale Effekt wird nach 1 – 2 Wochen erreicht. Bei der Behandlung mit Hyaluronsäure müssen die Proportionen und Harmonie der Ober- und Unterlippe berücksichtigt werden. Insbesondere muss das sogenannte goldene Verhältnis berücksichtigt werden (1 : 1.618). Bei asymmetrischer Lippenform, Knotenbildung oder Gefässverschlüssen kann die Hyaluronsäure mit einem Enzym, die sogenannte Hyaluronidase, aufgelöst werden.

Die Ergebnisse nach einer Hyaluronsäure Behandlung dauern in der Regel zwischen 6 -12 Monate an, dann kann die Behandlung wiederholt werden. Mit dem Bullhorn Lip-Lift wird hingegen ein dauerhaftes Ergebnis erzielt, eine Nachbehandlung oder Feinkorrektur ist sehr selten notwendig.
Eine alternative Behandlungsmethode zu Hyaluronsäure ist die Lippenbehandlung mit Eigenfett.

Bei dieser natürlichen Form der Behandlung erfolgt die Fettabsaugung an einer gewünschten Stelle, das Fett wird entsprechend zubereitet und in die Lippen gespritzt. Bei dieser Behandlung wird ca. 40 – 50% des Fettes in den ersten 3 Monaten aufgelöst, der restliche Anteil bleibt langanhaltend.

Wie ist der Ablauf vom Bullhorn Lip-Lift?

Der Eingriff erfolgt in örtlicher Betäubung und kann ambulant durchgeführt werden. Die Operation dauert ca. 45 – 60 Minuten

Wo verläuft die Narbe?

Die Schnittführung erfolgt entlang der Nasenflügel und des Nasenstegs. Die Narbe liegt somit im Bereich der natürlichen Hautumschlagfalte unter dem Naseneingang versteckt und ist somit kaum sichtbar.

Wer eignet sich für ein Bullhorn Lip-Lift?

Der Eingriff eignet sich für alle Frauen, die ihre Lippen als zu schmal und zu lang empfinden. Durch genetische Veranlagung oder auch den natürlichen Alterungsprozess erscheinen die Lippen im Laufe der Zeit schmaler, wodurch der Abstand zwischen Nase und Mund grösser wird und das Gesicht erscheint somit älter.

Eine Altersgrenze für den Eingriff gibt es somit eigentlich nicht. Die verschiedenen Behandlungsmethoden werden im Rahmen eines individuellen Beratungsgesprächs ausführlich besprochen.

Was sind die Risiken eines Bullhorn Lip-Lift?

Die Risiken der Behandlung sind gering. Wie bei allen chirurgischen Eingriffen können Störungen der Wundheilung oder eine Infektion auftreten. Diese Komplikationen sind jedoch aufgrund der guten Durchblutung im Gesichtsbereich sehr selten.

Leichte Schwellungen, Blutergüsse oder Rötungen können für ein paar Tage entstehen, welche oft von selbst wieder abklingen. Gefühlseinschränkungen der Oberlippe sind nach der Abheilung der Operation nicht zu erwarten.

Was muss ich nach der Operation beachten?

Nach der Operation sollten Sie die Oberlippe für ein paar Tage kühlen. Ebenso empfehle ich in der Heilungsphase auf übermässiges Sprechen oder intensives Kauen zu verzichten und eher kühle und weiche Kost einzunehmen. Zudem empfehle ich keine körperliche Anstrengung, bis die Wunde verheilt ist (in der Regel nach 7 Tagen).

Die Fadenentfernung erfolgt nach 5 bis 7 Tagen, dann ist von dem Eingriff kaum noch etwas zu sehen. Anschliessend müssen Sie die Narbe mit einer fetthaltigen oder silikonhaltigen Narbencreme täglich bis zu einem Jahr nach der Operation einmassieren sowie einen Sonnenschutz Lichtschutzfaktor 50 verwenden. Grundsätzlich besteht kaum eine Einschränkung der Arbeitsfähigkeit, nach 3 – 5 Tagen sind Sie in der Regel gesellschaftsfähig.

Was sind die Kosten?

Da das Verfahren eine ästhetische Behandlung ist übernehmen die Krankenkassen die Anwendungen nicht. Abhängig von den Zusatzeingriffen und Dauer der Operation erhalten Sie von uns einen detaillierten schriftlichen Kostenvoranschlag.

Die Kosten für die geplante Operation sind spätestens 7 Tage vor der Operation zu überweisen, damit der Termin definitiv bestätigt werden kann. Diese in der Branche übliche Vorauszahlung ist notwendig, um die Reservationen und Vorbereitungen für Ihren Eingriff vornehmen zu können.

Haben Sie Fragen?

Vereinbaren Sie einen Beratungstermin.

Kontaktieren Sie uns verändert den Praxiszeiten und vereinbaren Sie einen unverbindlichen Beratungstermin mit PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp in Cham bei Zug.

Unser Angebot für ästhetische Medizin und plastisch-rekonstruktive Chirurgie

Unser Behandlungsangebot umfasst die gesamte Palette der ästhetischen Medizin und plastisch-rekonstruktiven Chirurgie. Jede Behandlung ist ein individueller Eingriff, der genau auf Ihre Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und Voraussetzungen abgestimmt ist.

Wir stehen für transparente und faire Preise. Die Kosten umfassen alle Massnahmen wie Vorbesprechung, Operation, Anästhesie, Aufenthalte und Nachkontrollen. Die Kosten für schönheitschirurgische Behandlungen werden nur in Ausnahmen von der Krankenversicherung übernommen. Kontaktieren Sie uns für Ihre Fragen zu den Behandlungen.

Themen und Antworten von PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Fliehendes Kinn? Kinnkorrektur? Kinnvergrösserung? Doppelkinn entfernen? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 20 Jun 2022

Ein schwach ausgeprägtes Kinn ist meist angeboren und kann für viele Betroffene belastend sein. Insbesondere Männer wünschen sich ein markantes…

Mehr erfahren

The Art of Aesthetic facial treatments – Invitation (Thursday, JUNE 9, 2022) in Zug Switzerland

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 09 Mai 2022

Dear Ladies, I’m honored to invite you to our next Event in presence, which will take place on Thursday JUNE…

Mehr erfahren

Mommy Makeover? Schöne Körperform nach Abschluss der Familienplanung – Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 05 Mai 2022

Durch die Schwangerschaft, Geburt und auch das Stillen kann es zu Veränderungen des Körpers kommen. Das Gewebe verliert an Elastizität,…

Mehr erfahren