Upper arm lift? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

With the ageing process or after massive weight loss, wrinkling and loosening of the connective tissue on the upper arms can occur. This can be very disturbing, especially for women, and the choice of clothing is correspondingly limited. With an upper arm lift, the excess skin and fatty tissue is permanently removed. The surgical treatment can include liposuction alone or a combined procedure using liposuction and surgical removal of excess skin.

Read also: Aesthetic and reconstructive surgery on the body, body lift, buttock lift and pomodelling

How is an upper arm lift performed?

In patients with good skin elasticity and little excess skin, liposuction alone can lead to a very good result. The technology used is secondary, what is important is the liposuction technique. Usually, 360° liposuction of the upper arms is performed with a thin cannula, emphasising the anatomy, in order to achieve the most natural and feminine result possible.

If necessary, liposuction can be extended to the underarms. In case of moderate excess skin, a vertical skin tightening on the inner side of the upper arms is necessary. The scar is located in the armpit and is hardly visible. In patients after massive weight loss and severe excess skin, horizontal and vertical skin tightening is necessary. Skin removal is always performed in combination with liposuction.

How long is the scar of an upper arm lift?

The exact length and position of the scar varies from person to person and depends on the extent of the excess skin and fat. However, with regular scar care, the scar is hardly visible after a year and the shape is ultimately decisive.

What is the procedure for upper arm lift treatment?

The operation is usually performed under general anaesthesia and on an outpatient basis. The upper arm lift with liposuction alone is performed in the prone position, while the surgical skin removal is performed in the supine position. To prepare the tissue for the operation, manual lymphatic drainage is recommended one day before the operation. If you smoke, you must completely stop nicotine consumption at least two weeks before and after the operation.

What are the risks of an upper arm lift?

Serious complications such as bleeding or infections are very rare. As the operation is very superficial, nerve and vascular injuries are unlikely. The lymph vessels are usually not injured, which is why lymphoedema is hardly possible after the operation. Occasionally, there are temporary sensory disturbances, especially on the inside of the upper arm, but this will usually normalise in the following months. Wound healing disorders or fluid accumulation can usually be treated conservatively in the consultation without surgical intervention.

Is an upper arm lift painful?

As this surgery is purely soft tissue surgery, the procedure is usually painless. Pain medication would usually have to be taken for 5-7 days after the operation.

What do I have to keep in mind after the operation?

After the operation you will be given a compression garment for the upper arms, which must be worn consistently for 4 weeks. Afterwards, I recommend wearing the compression garment at night for another 4 weeks. I also recommend manual lymphatic drainage, which can be started 2-3 days after the operation, twice a week for a total of 9 treatments. Manual lymphatic drainage must be performed by a certified physiotherapist with additional training in manual lymphatic drainage. This may be supplemented by LPG Endermologie treatment after a few weeks. Sporting activities should be avoided until the wound has healed approx. 2 weeks after the operation. Stitches are removed after 14 days. For optimised scar healing, I recommend daily scar care from the 7th week of the operation up to one year after the operation as well as consistent sun protection SPF 50.

When will I see the result of the upper arm lift?

The healing process of the wound takes about two weeks, then the stitches are removed. However, the arms and hands may still be swollen then. Compression garments and manual lymphatic drainage can help the healing process. Hardening or irregularities may persist for a few more months; for the final result of liposuction it takes 6 months. Scar healing takes a year, and scar care with a silicone plaster or scar gel must be carried out during this time.

What are the costs of an upper arm lift?

As the procedure is an aesthetic treatment, health insurance companies do not usually cover the treatments. Very rarely, the upper arm lift can be covered by the health insurance, especially after significant weight loss. This must be checked on an individual basis. The costs for an aesthetic upper arm lift are variable and depend on the complexity of the operation. An exact cost estimate can therefore only be provided after a personal consultation.

Do you have any questions?

Make an appointment for a consultation.

Contact us during office hours to arrange a no-obligation consultation with PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp in Cham near Zug.

Our offer for aesthetic medicine and plastic reconstructive surgery

Our range of treatments covers the entire spectrum of aesthetic medicine and plastic-reconstructive surgery. Each treatment is an individual procedure that is precisely tailored to your wishes, needs and prerequisites.

We stand for transparent and fair prices. The costs include all measures such as preliminary consultation, operation, anaesthesia, stays and follow-up checks. The costs for cosmetic surgery treatments are only covered by health insurance in exceptional cases. Contact us for your questions about the treatments.

Topics and answers by PD Dr Mathias Tremp

Flying chin? Chin correction? Chin augmentation? Double chin removal? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 20 Jun 2022

A weakly defined chin is usually congenital and can be distressing for many sufferers. Men in particular want to have a prominent...

Learn more

Lip treatment? Lip Lift? Bullhorn Lip Lift? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 01 Jun 2022

Curved and full lips stand for sensuality and femininity. However, not all women naturally have this shape....

Learn more

The Art of Aesthetic facial treatments - Invitation (Thursday, JUNE 9, 2022) in Zug Switzerland

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 09 May 2022

Dear Ladies, I'm honored to invite you to our next Event in presence, which will take place on Thursday JUNE...

Learn more

Oberarmstraffung? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Mit dem Alterungsprozess oder nach massiver Gewichtsabnahme kann es zur Faltenbildung und Lockerung des Bindegewebes an den Oberarmen kommen. Dies kann insbesondere für Frauen als sehr störend empfunden werden, die Kleiderwahl ist entsprechend eingeschränkt. Mit einer Oberarmstraffung wir das überschüssige Haut- und Fettgewebe permanent entfernt. Die chirurgische Behandlung kann eine alleinige Fettabsaugung beinhalten oder ein kombiniertes Verfahren mittels Fettabsaugung und chirurgische Entfernung von überschüssiger Haut.

Lesen Sie auch: Ästhetische und rekonstruktive Chirurgie am Körper, Körperstraffung, Gesässstraffung und Pomodellierung

Wie wird eine Oberarmstraffung durchgeführt?

Bei Patientinnen mit einer guten Hautelastizität und geringem Hautüberschuss kann eine alleinige Fettabsaugung zu einem sehr guten Ergebnis führen. Welche Technologie dafür verwendet wird ist sekundär, wichtig ist die Liposuktionstechnik. Meist erfolgt eine 360° Fettabsaugung der Oberarme mit einer dünnen Kanüle unter Betonung der Anatomie, um ein möglichst natürliches und feminines Ergebnis zu erzielen.

Falls notwendig kann die Fettabsaugung auf die Unterarme ausgedehnt werden. Bei mässigem Hautüberschuss ist eine vertikale Hautstraffung auf der Innenseite der Oberarme notwendig. Die Narbe kommt entsprechend in der Achselhöhle zu liegen und ist kaum sichtbar. Bei Patienten nach massivem Gewichtsverlust und starkem Hautüberschuss ist eine horizontale und vertikale Hautstraffung notwendig. Die Hautentfernung erfolgt immer in Kombination mit einer Fettabsaugung.

Wie lange ist die Narbe einer Oberarmstraffung?

Die genaue Länge und Position der Narbe ist individuell verschieden und richtet sich nach dem Ausmass des Haut- und Fettüberschusses. Mit einer regelmässigen Narbenpflege ist jedoch die Narbe nach einem Jahr kaum mehr sichtbar und die Form ist letztendlich entscheidend.

Wie ist der Ablauf einer Behandlung der Oberarmstraffung?

Die Operation findet in der Regel in Vollnarkose und ambulant statt. Die Oberarmstraffung mit einer alleinigen Fettabsaugung findet in Bauchlage statt, während die chirurgische Hautentfernung in Rückenlage erfolgt. Um das Gewebe auf die Operation vorzubereiten ist eine manuelle Lymphdrainage ein Tag vor der Operation empfehlenswert. Falls Sie Rauchen müssen Sie mindestens zwei Wochen vor und nach der Operation mit dem Nikotinkonsum komplett stoppen.

Was sind die Risiken einer Oberarmstraffung?

Schwere Komplikationen wir Nachblutungen oder Infektionen sind sehr selten. Da die Operation sehr oberflächlich ist sind Nerven- und Gefässverletzungen unwahrscheinlich. Die Lymphgefässe werden in der Regel nicht verletzt, weswegen ein Lymphödem nach der Operation kaum möglich ist. Gelegentlich kommt es zu vorübergehende Gefühlsstörungen vor allem auf der Innenseite des Oberarms, dies wird sich aber in den folgenden Monaten meist normalisieren. Wundheilungsstörungen oder Flüssigkeitsansammlungen können meist konservativ in der Sprechstunde ohne operative Intervention behandelt werden.

Ist eine Oberarmstraffung schmerzhaft?

Da es sich bei dieser Operation um eine reine Weichteiloperation handelt ist der Eingriff in der Regel schmerzarm. Schmerzmedikamente müssten in der Regel 5-7 Tagen nach der Operation eingenommen werden.

Was muss ich nach der Operation beachten?

Nach der Operation kriegen Sie eine Kompressionskleidung für die Oberarme, welche für 4 Wochen konsequent getragen werden muss. Anschliessend empfehle ich noch für 4 weitere Wochen nachts das Tragen der Kompressionskleidung. Zudem empfehle ich eine manuelle Lymphdrainage, welche 2-3 Tagen nach der Operation begonnen werden kann, zweimal pro Woche für insgesamt 9 Behandlungen. Die manuelle Lymphdrainage muss durch einen zertifizierten Physiotherapeuten erfolgen mit einer Zusatzausbildung für die manuelle Lymphdrainage. Ergänzend dazu kann nach ein paar Wochen eine Behandlung mit LPG Endermologie erfolgen. Sportliche Aktivitäten sollten bis zur Wundheilung ca. 2 Wochen nach der Operation gemieden werden. Eine Fadenentfernung erfolgt nach 14 Tagen. Für eine optimierte Narbenheilung empfehle ich eine tägliche Narbenpflege ab der 7. Operationswoche bis zu einem Jahr nach der Operation sowie einen konsequenten Sonnenschutz LSF 50.

Wann sehe ich das Ergebnis der Oberarmstraffung?

Der Heilungsprozess der Wunde beträgt ca. zwei Wochen, dann werden die Fäden entfernt. Dann können aber die Arme und Hände noch geschwollen sein. Durch die Kompressionskleidung und manuelle Lymphdrainage kann der Heilungsprozess gefördert werden. Verhärtungen oder Unregelmässigkeiten können noch ein paar Monate anhalten, für das Endergebnis einer Fettabsaugung braucht es 6 Monate. Die Narbenheilung geht ein Jahr, solange muss auch die Narbenpflege mit eine Silikonpflaster oder Narbengel erfolgen.

Was sind die Kosten einer Oberarmstraffung?

Da das Verfahren eine ästhetische Behandlung ist übernehmen die Krankenkassen die Anwendungen in der Regel nicht. Sehr selten kann die Oberarmstraffung vor allem nach deutlichem Gewichtsverlust von der Krankenkasse übernommen werden. Dies muss individuell geprüft werden. Die Kosten für eine ästhetische Oberarmstraffung sind variabel und abhängig vom Aufwand der Operation. Ein genauer Kostenvoranschlag kann daher erst nach einem persönlichen Beratungsgespräch erstellt werden.

Haben Sie Fragen?

Vereinbaren Sie einen Beratungstermin.

Kontaktieren Sie uns verändert den Praxiszeiten und vereinbaren Sie einen unverbindlichen Beratungstermin mit PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp in Cham bei Zug.

Unser Angebot für ästhetische Medizin und plastisch-rekonstruktive Chirurgie

Unser Behandlungsangebot umfasst die gesamte Palette der ästhetischen Medizin und plastisch-rekonstruktiven Chirurgie. Jede Behandlung ist ein individueller Eingriff, der genau auf Ihre Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und Voraussetzungen abgestimmt ist.

Wir stehen für transparente und faire Preise. Die Kosten umfassen alle Massnahmen wie Vorbesprechung, Operation, Anästhesie, Aufenthalte und Nachkontrollen. Die Kosten für schönheitschirurgische Behandlungen werden nur in Ausnahmen von der Krankenversicherung übernommen. Kontaktieren Sie uns für Ihre Fragen zu den Behandlungen.

Themen und Antworten von PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Fliehendes Kinn? Kinnkorrektur? Kinnvergrösserung? Doppelkinn entfernen? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 20 Jun 2022

Ein schwach ausgeprägtes Kinn ist meist angeboren und kann für viele Betroffene belastend sein. Insbesondere Männer wünschen sich ein markantes…

Mehr erfahren

Lippenbehandlung? Lip Lifting? Bullhorn Lip-Lift? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 01 Jun 2022

Geschwungene und volle Lippen stehen für Sinnlichkeit und Weiblichkeit. Allerdings besteht nicht bei allen Frauen von Natur aus diese Form.…

Mehr erfahren

The Art of Aesthetic facial treatments – Invitation (Thursday, JUNE 9, 2022) in Zug Switzerland

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 09 Mai 2022

Dear Ladies, I’m honored to invite you to our next Event in presence, which will take place on Thursday JUNE…

Mehr erfahren