TCA peeling? Questions for PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Many patients suffer from fine scars on the face, skin irregularities, small wrinkles or sun-related skin damage. Also relatively widespread is the so-called melasma or chloasma, an excessive storage of melanin in the skin and leads to pigmentary shifts.

The TCA peel is a gentle, non-surgical facial treatment and is well tolerated by all skin types and ages.

Read also: Facial plastic and aesthetic treatments, Facial plastic surgery, Facial aesthetic treatments, Dermatological and reconstructive surgery

What is a TCA peel?

TCA (trichloroacetic acid) peeling is a chemical peeling method used as a cosmetic or dermatological procedure to treat small blemishes and wrinkles of the skin. The treatment is combined with various fruit acids.

How does TCA peeling work?

Dead skin scales of the uppermost skin layer (epidermis) are removed by the aggressive properties of trichloroacetic acid. The procedure belongs to the "medium-depth peels"; it also reaches the dermis (leather skin). TCA is a keratolytic and should be performed by a doctor to avoid skin burns.

Can the TCA peel be combined with a surgical face lift?

Yes, the TCA peel is ideal in combination with a surgical face lift and results in an improved appearance of the skin.

What can the TCA peel be used for?

TCA peeling can be used to treat superficial acne scars, fine wrinkles, pigment spots such as melasma or age spots. Special treatments are suitable for décolleté, hands, underarms and stretch marks.

Is the treatment painful?

We use the medium deep peel with a 15% TCA solution and is very safe. You will feel a slight warm sensation during application.

How long does the TCA peel last and what do I have to bear in mind after the therapy?

Stop retinol treatment one week before the peel. Similarly, you should avoid sun exposure one week before the treatment. You should not use make-up, perfume or face cream on the day of treatment. The treatment lasts approximately 30 minutes. After treatment, increased UV sensitivity will remain for several weeks. In order not to complicate the healing process, a strong sun protection SPF 50 is very important until 3 weeks after the treatment. You can apply this 2 weeks after the treatment, before that you should avoid the sun. After the peeling, neither water nor cosmetics should be applied to the treated areas within the first three days.

After this period, you may gently cleanse the face and apply a moisturiser. We can give you a face cream containing coritson to reduce swelling. You will also receive a bleaching cream to prevent pigmentation problems. After 1 week you can use your usual cosmetics. Retinol-A treatment can be resumed 10 days after the peel - but initially only every 2nd or 3rd night as the skin is very sensitive.

To maintain the peeling result, an after-treatment with special nourishing externals is recommended (e.g. ointment containing fat).

How often is the treatment carried out?

4 peels at four-week intervals + 6 weeks of cream = 1 regeneration cycle that can be repeated up to 3 times.

What are the side effects?

The treatment is suitable for Fitzpatrick skin typeI-IV. Possible complications are swelling, redness, itching, pigmentary shifts especially in darker skintypes (Fitzpatrick skin types V and VI), or herpes simplex and bacterial infections.

If you have had herpes simplex in the past, we recommend anti-viral shielding (400 mg of aciclovir three times a day starting 24 hours before the peel for six days until complete re-epithelialisation) with valaciclovir (Valtrex®).

How long will I be unable to work?

The first 2 days after the peeling, the treated skin will feel tight. On the 3rd and 4th day, the skin will flake significantly more. The ideal time for peeling would be, for example, on Thursday afternoons.

On Friday, work can still be done without restrictions, on the weekend, the peeling process takes place and at the beginning of the week, work activities can usually be resumed.

When can I do sports and shower again?

24h after the treatment you may shower for the first time. Gently wash the exfoliated area with cool water. Thereafter, the skin should be washed very gently in cool water before each application of the skin care ointment. This daily routine will continue until the peeling is complete.

Avoid pronounced facial expressions, bending, tension, sports activities and smoking until the skin has healed completely.

What are the costs?

Counselling is free of charge.

The cost of a treatment is agreed in advance depending on the region and severity. Usually packages of 4 treatments are agreed, sometimes an annual flat rate is also useful and can be combined with additional facial treatments such as Botox, PRP (Platelet Rich Plasma/own blood) or fillers.

Do you have questions about the aesthetic facial treatments?

Contact us for a meeting.

More reports

Treat cellulite? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 20 Jun 2021

Cellulite is widespread, almost every woman suffers from it. This aesthetic problem shows up as a dent especially on the...

Facial treatments and skin care between the ages of 30 - 55? Recommendations by PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 07 Jun 2021

Preventing facial ageing and maintaining naturalness is a long-term process and should be started early. Here it is recommended...

Facial treatments and skin care from 20 to the end of 30? - Recommendations by PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | 06 Jun 2021

On the one hand, the natural ageing process is in the genes, on the other hand, our lifestyle determines our skin appearance. The skin forgets our "sins" like...

TCA Peeling? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Viele Patienten leiden an feinen Narben im Gesicht, Hautunregelmässigkeiten, kleinen Fältchen oder sonnenbedingten Hautschädigungen. Ebenso relativ weit verbreitet ist das sogenannte Melasma oder Chloasma, eine übermässig starke Einlagerung von Melanin der Haut und führt zu Pigmentverschiebungen.

Das TCA-Peeling ist eine sanfte, nicht-chirurgische Gesichtsbehandlung und ist für jeden Hauttyp und jedes Alter gut verträglich.

Lesen Sie auch: Plastische und ästhetische Gesichtsbehandlungen, Plastische Gesichtschirurgie, Ästhetische Gesichtsbehandlungen, Dermatologischen und Rekonstruktiven Chirurgie

Was ist ein TCA Peeling?

Das TCA (Trichloressigsäure) Peeling ist eine chemische Peeling-Methode (engl. to peel – abschälen), die als kosmetisches, bzw. dermatologisches Verfahren zur Behandlung von kleinen Unreinheiten und Falten der Haut eingesetzt wird. Die Behandlung wird kombiniert mit verschiedenen Fruchtsäuren.

Wie wirkt TCA Peeling?

Abgestorbene Hautschuppen der obersten Hautschicht (Epidermis) werden durch die aggressiven Eigenschaften der Trichloressigsäure abgelöst. Das Verfahren gehört zu den “mitteltiefen Peels”; es erreicht auch die Dermis (Lederhaut). Das TCA ist ein Keratolytikum und sollte von einem Arzt durchgeführt werden, um Verätzungen der Haut zu vermeiden.

Kann das TCA Peeling mit einer chirurgischen Gesichtsstraffung kombiniert werden?

Ja, das TCA Peeling eignet sich ideal in Kombination mit einer chirurgischen Gesichtsstraffung und führt zu einem verbesserten Erscheinungsbild der Haut.

Für was kann das TCA Peeling verwendet werden?

Durch das TCA Peeling lassen sich oberflächliche Akne-Narben, feine Falten, Pigmentflecken wie Melasma oder Altersflecken behandeln. Spezielle Behandlungen eignen sich für Dekolleté, Hände, Unterarme und Schwangerschaftsstreifen.

Ist die Behandlung schmerzhaft?

Wir verwenden das mitteltiefe Peeling mit einer 15% TCA Lösung und ist sehr sicher. Während des Auftragens spüren Sie ein leichtes Wärmegefühl.

Wie lange dauert das TCA-Peeling und was gilt es nach der Therapie zu beachten?

Stoppen Sie die Retinolbehandlung eine Woche vor dem Peeling. Ebenso sollten Sie eine Woche vor der Behandlung eine Sonnenexposition vermeiden. Am Behandlungstag sollten Sie kein Makeup, Parfüm oder Gesichtscreme verwenden. Die Behandlung dauert ca. 30 Minuten. Nach der Behandlung bleibt eine erhöhte UV-Empfindlichkeit über mehrere Wochen bestehen. Um die Abheilung nicht zu erschweren, ist ein starker Sonnenschutz LSF 50 bis 3 Wochen nach der Behandlung sehr wichtig. Diese können Sie 2 Wochen nach der Behandlung auftragen, vorher sollten Sie die Sonne meiden. Nach dem Peeling dürfen innerhalb der ersten drei Tagen weder Wasser noch Kosmetika auf die behandelten Areale aufgetragen werden.

Nach dieser Frist dürfen Sie das Gesicht sanft reinigen und eine Feuchtigkeitscremen auftragen. Zur Abschwellung können wir Ihnen eine coritsonhaltige Gesichtscreme abgeben. Ebenso erhalten Sie eine Bleichcreme um Pigmentprobleme zu vermeiden. Nach 1 Woche können Sie Ihre gewohnten Kosmetika verwenden. Eine Retinol-A-Behandlung kann 10 Tage nach dem Peeling wieder aufgenommen werden – allerdings anfangs nur jede 2. oder 3. Nacht, da die Haut sehr empfindlich ist.

Zur Erhaltung des Peeling-Ergebnisses wird eine Nachbehandlung mit speziellen pflegenden Externa empfohlen (z. B. fetthaltige Salbe).

Wie oft wird die Behandlung durchgeführt?

4 Peelings im Abstand von vier Wochen + 6 Wochen Creme = 1 Regenerationszyklus, der bis zu 3-mal wiederholt werden kann.

Was sind die Nebenwirkungen?

Die Behandlung ist für den FitzpatrickHauttyp I-IV geeignet. Mögliche Komplikationen sind Schwellungen, Rötung, Juckreiz, Pigmentverschiebungen insbesondere bei dunklerem Hauttyp (Fitzpatrick-Hauttyp V und VI), oder Herpes-simplex- sowie bakterielle Infektionen.

Sollten Sie in der Vergangenheit Herpes-simplex gehabt haben empfehlen wir eine anti-virale Abschirmung (dreimal täglich 400 mg Aciclovir beginnend 24 Stunden vor dem Peeling über sechs Tage bis zur kompletten Reepithelialisierung) mit Valaciclovir (Valtrex®).

Wie lange bin ich arbeitsunfähig?

Die ersten 2 Tage nach dem Peeling fühlt sich die behandelte Haut gespannt an. Am 3. und 4. Tag wird sich die Haut deutlich mehr schuppen. Ideal wäre z.B. ein Peeling donnerstags nachmittags.

Am Freitag kann noch ohne Einschränkungen der Arbeit nachgegangen werden, am Wochenende findet dann der Schälprozess statt und am Wochenanfang kann in der Regel die Arbeitstätigkeit wieder aufgenommen werden.

Wann kann ich wieder Sport machen und duschen?

24h nach der Behandlung dürfen Sie erstmals duschen. Waschen Sie den gepeelten Bereich sanft mit kühlem Wasser ab. Danach sollte die Haut vor jedem Auftragen der Pflegesalbe sehr sanft kühl gewaschen werden. Diese tägliche Routine wird solange erfolgen, bis das Peeling abgeschlossen ist.

Meiden Sie ausgeprägte Mimik, Beugung, Anspannung, sportliche Aktivitäten und Rauchen, bis die Haut völlig abgeheilt ist.

Was sind die Kosten?

Die Beratung ist kostenlos.

Die Kosten für eine Behandlung werden im Voraus vereinbart je nach Region und Schweregrad. In der Regel werden Pakete à 4 Behandlungen vereinbart, manchmal ist auch eine Jahrespauschale sinnvoll und kann mit zusätzlichen Gesichtsbehandlungen wie z.B. Botox, PRP (Platelet Rich Plasma/Eigenblut) oder Fillers kombiniert werden.

Haben Sie Fragen zu den ästhetische Gesichtsbehandlungen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine Besprechung.

Weitere Berichte

Frische Schönheit – Kollagenstimulation für Gesicht und Körper? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 10 Okt 2021

Kollagen ist ein wichtiges Strukturprotein der Haut. Ab Ende 20 wird die Haut dünner und verliert an Elastizität und Volumen.…

Behandlung mit PROFHILO® Filler? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 01 Okt 2021

Das PROFHILO® Verfahren ist ein neuartiges Konzept zur Verjüngung und der Haut. Diese noch recht junge Anti-Aging mit einzigartiger Formulierung…

Cellulite behandeln? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 20 Jun 2021

Cellulite ist weit verbreitet, fast jede Frau leidet darunter. Dieses ästhetische Problem zeigt sich als Delle vor allem an den…