Corrective methods for uneven breast shape? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

An uneven breast shape is very common and can be psychologically very stressful. There are various correction options, which can often be combined. The most common methods include: Breast implants (teardrop-shaped, round or customised), own fat grafting, breast lift and shaping of the mammary gland.

Read also: Breast augmentation, breast lift, breast reduction, nipple correction

When do I need an implant and when do I need a lift?

If the breast is only slightly sagging and an increase in volume is desired, then a breast implant is usually sufficient. The breast can be additionally lifted by a so-called "internal tightening" using the Dual Plane technique. If the breast is very pendulous and the areola is clearly below the inframammary fold, then an additional lift is needed.

When do I need a teardrop-shaped implant and when a round implant?

As a rule, we use round and smooth implants, also to reduce the risk of the so-called anal plastic lymphoma (ALCL) to a minimum.

Is the autologous fat treatment sufficient for volume increase?

The autologous fat treatment is only suitable for a small increase in volume. A relevant percentage also dissolves in the next 6 months, which is why a second treatment may be necessary.

What techniques are available for a breast lift?

If the breast is only slightly sagging, a tightening around the areola is sufficient. If the breast is clearly sagging, a so-called I-cut method (Lejour technique) or anchor cut/T-cut method is necessary.

Can the autologous fat treatment be combined with an implant?

This technique can be combined well. Through the autologous fat treatment, the breast can be individually modelled and adjusted.

What is a so-called "tubular breast" (tube breast or trunk breast)?

The tubular breast form is one of the most common breast malformations. It is caused by a growth disorder of the glandular tissue and the lower part of the breast grows less than the upper part. Characteristic features are the large areolae and the tubular shape of the breast.

How is a tubular breast treated?

Various surgical techniques are possible and are often combined. Basically, the lower pole of the breast must be corrected and the mammary gland unfolded. If the areola is pronounced, it is also tightened. If a relevant increase in volume is desired, an additional implant is recommended. The implant is often inserted behind the muscle, but this varies from person to person. If only a small increase in volume is desired, then the own fat injection is the method of choice. If the breast is also very saggy, a skin tightening must be performed.

What is the incision for the correction of a tubular breast?

The incision can be made around the areola or in the crease under the breast. Very rarely, a so-called anchor incision is necessary if a relevant breast lift is to be performed.

What are possible complications?

Infections, wound healing problems and bruising can occur, but are rare. Temporary numbness usually disappears after 6 - 12 months. With autologous fat treatment, cyst formation (oil cyst) is possible if too much fat is injected.

What requirements do I have to meet and what is the healing process like?

If you smoke, you must abstain from nicotine for 4 weeks before and after the operation. Immediate mobilisation is desired after the operation, physical activities with light sweating is possible after 2 weeks. After 6 weeks you can resume physical activities in the chest area.

What are the costs?

In the case of a pronounced form of tube breast, the relevant health insurance fund may cover the costs of the operation. This must be checked individually. Often the correction of an asymmetric breast is a cosmetic procedure, the costs for surgery are agreed in advance depending on the duration and severity of the operation.

Breast cleavage

Do you have questions about breast correction for uneven breast shape and breast malformations?

Contact us for a meeting.

Further recommendations by PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp

Mesotherapy for gentle improvement of the skin structure? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | Dec 15, 2021

Mesotherapy is another name for skin rejuvenation using a regenerating substance. Anti-ageing mesotherapy is an intensive revitalisation and...

Read more

Lipolysis against smaller fat deposits? Questions for PD Dr Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | Dec 1, 2021

The fat way syringe makes it possible to remove excess body fat in a safe way. The Aqualyx® product consists of phosphatidylcholine...

Read more

Collagen drinking ampoules for firmer skin? Questions for PD Dr Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | Nov 15, 2021

The skin consists of a high percentage of the structural protein collagen. Collagen fibres support the skin from the inside. From the age of 25....

Read more

Korrektur-Methoden bei ungleicher Brustform? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Eine ungleiche Brustform ist sehr häufig und kann psychisch sehr belastend sein. Es gibt verschiedene Korrekturmöglichkeiten, welche häufig auch kombiniert werden können. Zu den häufigsten Methoden gehören: Brustimplantate (tropfenförmig, rund oder individuell angepasst), eigene Fetttransplantation, Bruststraffung und Formung der Brustdrüse.

Lesen Sie auch: Brustvergrösserung, Bruststraffung, Brustverkleinerung, Korrektur der Brustwarzen

Wann braucht es ein Implantat und wann eine Straffung?

Wenn die Brust nur gering hängend ist und eine Volumenvergrösserung gewünscht ist, dann genügt in der Regel ein Brustimplantat. Durch eine sogenannte «innere Straffung» mittels der Dual Plane Technik kann die Brust zusätzlich angehoben werden. Ist die Brust sehr hängend und der Brustwarzenvorhof deutlich unter der Brustumschlagfalte, dann braucht es eine zusätzliche Straffung.

Wann braucht es ein tropfenförmiges und wann ein rundes Implantat?

In der Regel verwenden wir runde und glatte Implantate, auch um das Risiko des sogenannten Analplastischen Lymphoms (ALCL) auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren.

Ist die Eigenfettbehandlung genügend für eine Volumenvergrösserung?

Die Eigenfettbehandlung eignet sich nur für eine geringe Volumenvergrösserung. Ein relevanter Prozentsatz löst sich zudem auf in den nächsten 6 Monaten, weshalb möglicherweise eine zweite Behandlung notwendig ist.

Was für Techniken gibt es bei einer Bruststraffung?

Ist die Brust nur wenig hängend genügt eine Straffung um den Brustwarzenvorhof. Bei deutlich hängender Brust ist eine sogenannte I-Schnittmethode (Lejour-Technik) oder Anker-Schnitt/T-Schnittmethode notwendig.

Kann die Eigenfettbehandlung mit einem Implantat kombiniert werden?

Diese Technik lässt sich gut kombinieren. Durch die Eigenfettbehandlung kann die Brust individuell modelliert und angepasst werden.

Was ist eine sogenannten «tubulären Brust» (Schlauchbrust oder Rüsselbrust)?

Die tubuläre Brustform ist eine der häufigsten Brustfehlbildungen. Dabei kommt es zu einer Wachstumsstörung des Drüsengewebes und der untere Teil der Brust wächst dabei weniger als der obere Anteil. Charakteristisch dazu sind die grossflächig ausgeprägten Brustwarzenvorhöfe (Areolen) sowie eine schlauchartige Form der Brust.

Wie wird eine tubuläre Brust behandelt?

Verschiedene Operationstechniken kommen in Frage und werden häufig kombiniert. Grundsätzlich muss der Brustunterpol korrigiert und die Brustdrüse entfaltet werden. Bei einer ausgeprägten Areola wird diese zusätzlich gestrafft. Wird eine relevante Volumenvergrösserung gewünscht ist ein zusätzliches Implantat empfehlenswert. Häufig wird das Implantat hinter dem Muskel eingelegt, dies ist jedoch individuell verschieden. Wir nur eine kleine Volumenvergrösserung gewünscht, dann ist die eigene Fettunterspritzung die Methode der Wahl. Ist die Brust zusätzlich stark hängend muss eine Hautstraffung erfolgen.

Was ist die Schnittführung bei der Korrektur einer tubulären Brust?

Die Schnittführung kann um den Brustwarzenvorhof oder in der Unterbrustfalte erfolgen. Sehr selten ist ein sogenannter Ankerschnitt notwendig wenn eine relevante Bruststraffung erfolgen soll.

Was sind mögliche Komplikationen?

Infektionen, Wundheilungsstörungen und Blutergüsse können vorkommen, sind jedoch selten. Ein vorübergehendes Taubheitsgefühl verschwindet in der Regel nach 6 – 12 Monaten. Bei der Eigenfettbehandlung ist eine Zystenbildung (Ölzyste) möglich wenn zu viel Fett injiziert wird.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich mitbringen und wie ist der Heilungsverlauf?

Falls Sie rauchen muss eine Nikotinkarenz 4 Wochen vor und nach der Operation erfolgen. Unmittelbar nach der Operation ist eine sofortige Mobilisation erwünscht, körperliche Tätigkeiten mit leichtem Schwitzen ist nach 2 Wochen möglich. Nach 6 Wochen können Sie die körperlichen Tätigkeiten im Brustbereich wieder aufnehmen.

Was sind die Kosten?

Bei einer ausgeprägten Form der Schlauchbrust kann die zuständige Krankenkasse die Kosten der Operation übernehmen. Dies muss individuell geprüft werden. Häufig ist die Korrektur einer asymmetrischen Brust ein kosmetischer Eingriff, die Kosten für eine Operation werden im Voraus vereinbart je nach Dauer und Schweregrad der Operation.

brust dekollete

Haben Sie Fragen zur Brustkorrektur bei ungleicher Brustform und bei Brustfehlbildungen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine Besprechung.

PD Dr med Mathias Tremp Surgery

Kontaktieren Sie mich für einen Beratungstermin.

Ästhetische Behandlungen im Gesicht? Fragen an PD Dr. Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 30 Sep 2020

Das Durchführen von ästhetischen Behandlungen ist in vielen Kreisen immer noch ein Tabuthema. Trotzdem gibt es immer mehr Frauen und…

Gesicht Profil

Nasenoperation: Kosmetische und funktionelle Gründe? Fragen an PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 14 Aug 2020

Eine Nasenoperation (Rhinoplastik) kann kosmetisch und/oder funktionell sein, d.h. die Patienten können nach der Operation besser durch die Nase atmen.…