Uneven breast shape? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

Most women have asymmetrical breasts. Unequal sizes or even different shapes of the breasts are normal. The position of the nipples can also vary from breast to breast.

If the differences and asymmetries of the breasts are very large and the woman suffers from them, a breast correction may make sense. PD Dr Mathias Tremp answers frequent questions from the breast consultation.

Read also: Breast augmentation, breast lift, breast reduction, nipple correction

How common is an uneven breast shape?

An asymmetrical or uneven breast shape is very common and occurs in practically every patient. Very rarely can symmetry be achieved with a simple breast augmentation, but additional measures are needed to achieve symmetry.

What methods can be used to even out the shape of the breast?

If there is a significant difference in breast volume, a different implant per breast can be used to achieve symmetry. There are drop-shaped or round implants. Which implant is ultimately used above or below the muscle is decided individually and must be harmonised with the patient's wishes.

What are the options if the breast is a bit saggy?

If the breast is also somewhat sagging, then a lift should be performed at the same time as the breast augmentation. If the breast is discreetly sagging, the lifting can be done from the inside ("inner lifting"), if the breast is clearly sagging, the lifting must be done from the outside either around the atrium or with a so-called T-cut with a vertical scar up to the underbust fold.

What other options are there for correcting an uneven breast shape?

Another very popular option is fat grafting. Fat can be suctioned from several regions and injected into the breast. The fat is not injected into the mammary gland, but either into the muscle or over the glandular tissue under the skin.

What is a tubular breast?

A tubular breast is caused by regions of the breast developing differently. The breast appears small, misshapen and resembles a "tube breast" or "trunk breast". Often there is also a raised underbust fold and an oversized, protruding areola.

How is the "tube chest" corrected?

The tube breast is relatively common. Correction consists of remodelling and shaping of the glandular tissue. The underdeveloped glandular body is compensated with an implant.

Is there a cancer risk with implants or with autologous fat treatment?

Recently, breast implant-associated anaplastic large cell lymphoma (BIA-ALCL) has been the subject of increased discussion. This is a rare form of cancer that should not be confused with breast cancer. There is a possible connection between BIA-ALCL and breast implants, but nothing has been proven to date.

The exact cause of BIA-ALCL is unclear. It is suspected that the surface structure of the breast implants plays a role: according to this, implants with a textured surface are more frequently associated with BIA-ALCL than smooth-walled implants.

Today, autologous fat treatment is considered safe with regard to breast cancer and further follow-up examinations for screening are also possible after treatment.

How long will I be unable to work?

Yes, depending on the extent of the operation, between 7-14 days

When can I do sports and shower again?

Showering is allowed after 48 hours, physical activity is possible again after 4 weeks.

Do I have to wear a special bra after the operation?

After the operation you will need to wear a tight-fitting bra for 8 weeks.

What are the risks?

Possible risks are infections, secondary bleeding, capsular contraction or unsightly scarring. There is a feeling of numbness at the beginning, but it usually returns to normal after 6 months. In addition, minor corrective operations are often necessary in the further course.

What are the costs?

The costs for an operation are agreed in advance depending on the duration and severity of the operation. In the case of pronounced congenital malformations of the breast, the health insurance fund may be able to cover part of the costs, this must be checked individually.

Do you have questions about breast correction for uneven breast shape and breast malformations?

Contact us for a meeting.

Further recommendations by PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp

Mesotherapy for gentle improvement of the skin structure? Questions for PD Dr Mathias Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | Dec 15, 2021

Mesotherapy is another name for skin rejuvenation using a regenerating substance. Anti-ageing mesotherapy is an intensive revitalisation and...

Read more

Lipolysis against smaller fat deposits? Questions for PD Dr Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | Dec 1, 2021

The fat way syringe makes it possible to remove excess body fat in a safe way. The Aqualyx® product consists of phosphatidylcholine...

Read more

Collagen drinking ampoules for firmer skin? Questions for PD Dr Tremp

From PD Mathias Tremp, MD | Nov 15, 2021

The skin consists of a high percentage of the structural protein collagen. Collagen fibres support the skin from the inside. From the age of 25....

Read more

Ungleiche Brustform? Fragen an PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Die meisten Frauen haben asymmetrische Brüste. Ungleiche Grössen oder auch unterschiedliche Formen der Brüste sind normal. Auch die Position der Brustwarzen können von Brust zu Brust variieren.

Wenn die Unterschiede und Asymmetrien der Brust sehr gross sind und die Frau darunter leidet, kann eine Brustkorrektur sinnvoll sein. PD Dr. Mathias Tremp beantwortet häufige Fragen aus der Brustsprechstunde.

Lesen Sie auch: Brustvergrösserung, Bruststraffung, Brustverkleinerung, Brustwarzenkorrektur

Wie häufig ist eine ungleiche Brustform?

Eine asymmetrische oder ungleiche Brustform ist sehr häufig und kommt praktisch bei jeder Patientin vor. Sehr selten kann dann mit einer einfachen Brustvergrösserung eine Symmetrie erzielt werden, sondern es braucht noch zusätzliche Massnahmen zur Symmetrisierung.

Welche Methoden zur Ausgleichung der Brustform können verwendet werden?

Besteht ein deutlicher Unterschied vom Brustvolumen kann zur Erzielung einer Symmetrie ein unterschiedliches Implantat pro Brust verwendet werden. Dabei gibt es tropfenförmige oder runde Implantate. Welches Implantat letztendlich über oder unter dem Muskel verwendet wird entscheidet sich individuell und muss mit den Wünschen der Patientin harmonisiert werden.

Welche Möglichkeiten bestehen, wenn die Brust etwas hängend ist?

Ist die Brust zudem etwas hängend, dann sollte gleichzeitig zur Brustvergrösserung eine Straffung erfolgen. Die Straffung kann bei diskret hängender Brust von innen („innere Straffung“) erfolgen, bei deutlich hängender Brust muss die Straffung von aussen erfolgen entweder um den Vorhof oder mit einem sogenannten T-Schnitt mit einer vertikalen Narbe bis zur Unterbrustfalte.

Welche weiteren Optionen gibt es zur Korrektur einer ungleichen Brustform?

Eine weitere und sehr beliebte Möglichkeit ist die Fetttransplantation. Dabei kann an mehreren Regionen Fett abgesaugt werden und in die Brust injiziert werden. Dabei wird das Fett nicht in die Brustdrüse gespritzt, sondern entweder in den Muskel oder über das Drüsengewebe unter der Haut.

Was ist eine tubuläre Brust?

Eine tubuläre Brust entsteht dadurch, dass sich Regionen der Brust unterschiedlich entwickeln. Die Brust wirkt klein, unförmig und gleicht einer „Schlauchbrust“ oder „Rüsselbrust“. Häufig besteht zudem eine hochstehende Unterbrustfalte und einen übergrossen, hervorstehenden Warzenhof.

Wie wird die „Schlauchbrust” korrigiert?

Die Schlauchbrust ist relativ häufig. Eine Korrektur besteht in der Neumodellierung und Formung vom Drüsengewebe. Der unterentwickelte Drüsenkörper wird mit einem Implantat kompensiert.

Gibt es ein Krebsrisiko bei Implantaten oder bei der Eigenfettbehandlung?

In letzter Zeit sorgt das Brustimplantat-assoziierte anaplastische grosszellige Lymphom (BIA-ALCL) für vermehrt Diskussion. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine seltene Form von Krebs, die nicht mit Brustkrebs zu verwechseln ist. Es besteht ein möglicher Zusammenhang zwischen BIA-ALCL und Brustimplantaten, bewiesen ist jedoch bis heute nichts.

Die genaue Ursache für die Entstehung von BIA-ALCL ist unklar. Es wird vermutet, dass die Oberflächenstruktur der Brustimplantate eine Rolle spielt: demnach werden Implantate mit texturierter Oberfläche häufiger mit BIA-ALCL in Verbindung gebracht als glattwandige Implantate.

Die Eigenfettbehandlung gilt heute als sicher bezüglich Brustkrebs und weitere Nachkontrollen zur Vorsorgeuntersuchung sind auch nach der Behandlung möglich.

Wie lange bin ich arbeitsunfähig?

Ja nach Ausmass der Operation zwischen 7-14 Tagen

Wann kann ich wieder Sport machen und duschen?

Duschen ist nach 48 Stunden erlaubt, körperliche Tätigkeit ist wieder nach 4 Wochen möglich.

Muss ich einen speziellen BH tragen nach der Operation?

Nach der Operation müssen Sie für 8 Wochen einen straff sitzenden BH tragen.

Was sind die Risiken?

Mögliche Risiken sind Infektionen, Nachblutungen, Kapselkontraktion oder unschöne Narbenbildung. Ein Taubheitsgefühl besteht am Anfang, in der Regel normalisiert sich jedoch das Gefühl nach 6 Monaten. Zudem sind häufig kleinere Korrekturoperationen im weiteren Verlauf notwendig.

Was sind die Kosten?

Die Kosten für eine Operation werden im Voraus vereinbart je nach Dauer und Schweregrad der Operation. Bei ausgeprägten angeborenen Fehlbildungen der Brust kann die Krankenkasse möglicherweise einen Teil der Kosten übernehmen, dies muss individuell geprüft werden.

Haben Sie Fragen zur Brustkorrektur bei ungleicher Brustform und bei Brustfehlbildungen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine Besprechung.

PD Dr med Mathias Tremp Surgery

Haben Sie Fragen?

Kontaktieren Sie mich für einen Beratungstermin.

brust dekollete

Bruststraffung bei hängenden Brüsten? Fragen an PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 10 Jul 2020

Bei der Bruststraffung wird im Vergleich zur Brustverkleinerung kein Brustdrüsengewebe entfernt. Durch die Entfernung der überschüssigen Haut v.a. im unteren…

Hautpflege nach ästhetischen Behandlungen mit SkinCeuticals – Empfehlung PD Dr. Mathias Tremp

Von PD Dr. med. Mathias Tremp | 02 Jul 2020

Bezüglich Hautpflege haben wir eine enge Kooperation mit Skinceuticals, eine moderne, wissenschaftlich fundierte Hautpflegelinie. Dank deren Produkte können wir Ihnen…